So I got my first weave, and although it doesn’t sound like a big deal it was to me because it was something new. When I got the hair in I was not instantly blown away, “it looks “big!”” I said and if anyone gave me a compliment about it those were the first words out of my mouth. So I tried to “pyschoanalyze” myself to find out what the real cause of my discomfort was.

I resorted to a common past time I have when I am thinking really deep about something. Call me weird, but when I take photos of myself they don’t lie, I can see through my own act sometimes and see what is bothering me. I came to the conclusion that it was because I had let go of the control I had. The weave did not turn out exactly the way that I wanted it to, I had to improvise and get used to the fact that my “plans” had changed. I loved the new look because it was edgy and still me, but just the fact that it was not plan A still itched me the wrong way.

I discovered that I had gone against my mild case of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) and the fact that I had lost just this little bit of control just made me uneasy. However, I loved the new look more and more each day and it dawned on me, “I HAD SURVIVED!”. This got me thinking of all the meagre things in life we worry about. By definition they should not faze us because that’s just what they are, lacking in substance, little in flesh deficient in richness.

Credit to: rubyblossom

So what things in your life are you preoccupying yourself with to avoid something? They may be serious issues like debt or being blacklisted, or facing charges all issues that need to be addressed but you subconsciously wish to ignore now and continue to procrastinate. You can’t go wrong and I find that for me God never fails me and won’t start now. My challenge to you is to take it a day at a time and don’t let anything bog you down and get you in a funk! Sometimes you need to trust that “everything is gonna be alright” and let go of your control to see a bigger picture.

